May 4th – Thank You Letter

May 4th’s Blog Everyday in May is a day late because I was busy partying for my birthday, and by partying, I mean playing Skyrim.  Yesterday’s prompt was to write a thank you letter to anyone.  In honor of my birthday, I want to write a thank you letter to the people who are responsible for my existence, my parents.

Dear Mom and Dad,

First and foremost, thank you for birthing me (though that was more work for Mom).  Without that, I wouldn’t be where I am today – alive on planet earth.

I also wouldn’t be where I am today more specifically without the way you raised me.  You have always been supportive of what I wanted to do, even when it meant sending me away for awhile, which I know was hard.  It was hard for you the first time, when I was in middle school and flew off to Washington, D.C., for a week – and even harder still when I left to move overseas indefinitely.  You joked that you were worried that I’d meet some German and decide to move over here forever, and you were right.

You were right about a lot of things and taught me a lot as I was growing up – to honor my commitments, to be kind to everyone even if I didn’t like them, and to work hard for what I wanted.  These are important qualities to have and I’m glad you taught be the importance of them, even though it was hard to learn at the time – even if it meant I had to finish the softball season when I was ten.

Thank you for trusting me and giving me a chance to be independent – though I think I didn’t give you too much to worry about growing up.

Thank you for sitting through a dozen plays and concerts.  Thank you for making me feel like I was the best one on stage.

I know me leaving has been hard for you both, but I don’t think I could have done it without your support.

Thank you for loving me and being the best parents a girl could ask for.

3 thoughts on “May 4th – Thank You Letter”

Leave a Reply

